Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge & Share Your World – Week 37

Gypsum

Selenite Form

Gypsum crystals in the Cave of the Crystals in Mexico. Note person for scale

And I thought mine were large! Those depicted above shows just how big they can grow given the right conditions. Mine were found in Lincoln UK, not to far from the city centre. It was whilst the ground was being cleared for the foundations of Shuttleworth House, a number of gypsum crystals were found, along with many fossilised  Belemnites. I still have a few Belemnites, but of the three crystals only one, the other two were given to what was known in the 70’s as South Park High School. I now present my humble specimen of gypsum, note the teed in iron pyrites.


Cee’s Odd Ball Photo Challenge: Gypsum
Wikipedia
Share Your World – 2016 Week 37

Have you ever owned a rock, pet rock, or gem that is not jewerly? Yes, a gypsum crystal:

gypsum-3
Gypsum Crystal

 

What is your greatest strength or weakness? Sugar: Sugar addiction is the term for the relationship between sugar and the various aspects of food addiction including “bingeing, withdrawal, craving and cross-sensitization”. Some scientists assert that consumption of sweets or sugar could have a heroin addiction-like effect.

 

sucre_blanc_cassonade_complet_rapadura
Sugars; clockwise from top left: White refined, unrefined, unprocessed cane

What makes you feel grounded? Nature, the times I find have found my true self whilst in the thick of it. It scares me, thrills me, and often nigh on kills me.

uw-reflitions
Nature

 

Would you rather never be able to eat warm food or never be able to eat cold food? A somewhat profound question, mmm never; it would have to be warm, I could elaborate, but I’m sure I would offend.

salad_platter
Cold Salad

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful that I was able to see, and I hope to do so in the week coming up, and for the rest of my life!

insert
I can see, long may you do so too!

 

cbp share-your-world

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    That person is so very small. Awesome photograph and odd ball entry.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. MickETalbot says:

      Can you believe the longest is 39 meters, and weighs 55 tons, makes mine look like a grain sand! Many thanks for your comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

