Fatsia japonica

In Bloom
fatsia_japonica-003

By I, Drow male, CC BY-SA 3.0

My Specimen

Albeit a variegated cultivar, it being in bloom is a first for me. How days growth is involved in getting it to this stage has strangely gone unbelievably unnoticed by me until to day. I walk past this plant anything up to 20 times a day, without intentionally looking directly at it, as was the case today. However something in my subconscious  mind  registered an anomaly with the Fatsia, a sort of whoa look at the Fatsia. I did, and now your seeing what my conscious mind had some how overlooked for x days, mind you I am easily side tracked in my garden from natures most times hidden wonders. Oh yeah!

The reason for the two leaf shots is the obvious difference in their form. Plus the one on the left is attached to the flower stem, hardly a sepal, they can be seen on the multi headed flower bud, whereas the one on the right is off the main stem, showing very slight variegation, but with five points, which is also out of character with the image off Wikipedia. Beggars the question are they two forms of the genus Fatsia, or two different species? Any budding, (sorry, couldn’t resist),  botanists out there, would love some feedback on this  one, please.

Flower of the day | Fatsia japonica

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Wonderful photos for this week. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mick Talbot says:

      Wow, your quick of the mark, only a second ago posted a comment re this flower on your flower a day post.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    that variegated leaf looks like ivy to me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mick Talbot says:

      I agree, but it is definitely growing out of the base of the flower stem and its not alone.

      Like

      1. gwenniesgardenworld says:

        As fatsia and ivy are close relations it is possible that the leafs on the stem look like ivy. I have a young fatsia in my garden but I haven’t seen it in bloom yet

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Mick Talbot says:

        Even carrots what strange order Apiales is.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Mick Talbot says:

        Have a look at image 2017 you can just make out that the same type leaves surround the stem at the base of the bud.

        Like

  3. Anna Cottage says:

    Absolutely great photography.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

