A Walk Around Starmers Pit | Lincoln UK

THE PIT

A Virtual Tour

This is on my doorstep, just outside my back door.
Forty plus years I’ve lived here. still got loads to explore.
The water and the woodland still fills my mind with awe
The water holds many treasures like tench, one I do adore
I have named just the one, but there’s many, many more
Like carp, bream, roach, and eel, to name another four.
Then there’s perch, pike and chub, making 8 the final score.
Of birds there are many, on the water, and on the shore
Please do come and visit, and like me you’ll be in awe
Of what nature has to offer of that you can be sure!
No I am not forgetting there’s bug’s, and much more.
Like fungi in season,  and seeking them out a welcomed chore
Then there’s the flora, one can nor ignore.
Natures not fallen short for there’s species galore.
Please do come and join me on this  virtual tour.
Like me, you’ll find there so much to explore
© Mick Talbot 2016


 THE FISH

1.

By Scardinius_erythropthalmus1_resize.jpg: Original uploader was Algirdas at lt.wikipedia derivative work: George Chernilevsky talkScardinius_erythropthalmus1_resize.jpg, CC BY-SA 3.0, Link
2.

By Piet Spaans (viridiflavus) – Own work, CC BY-SA 2.5, Link
3.

By KareljOwn work, Public Domain, Link
4.

Perca fluviatilis 1879.jpg

By Alexander Francis Lydon (1836-1917) – British fresh water fishes, Public Domain, Link
5.

By KareljOwn work, Public Domain, Link
6.

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service National Image Library, Public Domain, Link

7.

Anguillarostratakils.jpg

CC BY-SA 3.0, Link

8.


By Alexander Francis LydonBritish fresh water fishes, Public Domain, Link

9.


By Tim Creque from South Lebanon, OH, USA – Rectangle the mirror at 12lb 8oz, CC BY 2.0, Link


Bugs


Another Walk Around Starmers Put

9 Comments Add yours

  1. cristina61 says:

    It’s really lovely! I’m imagining that the landscape around me, which is now Negro Bar and Mississippi Bar, looked very similar… back before all the digging, dredging and other types of habitat destruction. I can still see glimpses of its original state when I’m lucky.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mick Talbot says:

      Dare I tempt providence, for what you described is happening all around us. For indeed there is many a site I have visited the once with the intention of revisiting, only to find when I do its gone. I get paranoid now, for I have seen so many sites destroyed, oft for no other reason than some authority declared it was an eyesore. ☹

      Like

  2. lorriedeck says:

    Beautiful. I especially love the tree with the exposed roots.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mick Talbot says:

      There were 2, but one disappeared, ether through a storm uprooting it, or it was manually removed by the local angling club? ☹ Thanks for dropping by, your comment too.

      Liked by 2 people

    2. Mick Talbot says:

      Found an image of the long gone one, follow the link to see it https://micksinernestblog.wordpress.com/2016/11/22/a-walk-around-starmers-pit-autumn-winter/ I have heard, (after making some enquiries), that it was removed for safety reasons, how true that is I don’t know. In mitigation it probably was as the exposed roots did encroach on to the footpath. Regardless, to me, another micro habitat lost. ☹

      Liked by 1 person

      1. lorriedeck says:

        Yes, it is sad to lose such habitats, they benefit so many….including us.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Mick Talbot says:

      Going to try and add some more images of the birdlife, flora, and fungi, space permitting….if not, then you’ll find on the on the autumn/winter edition by following this link https://micksinernestblog.wordpress.com/2016/11/22/a-walk-around-starmers-pit-autumn-winter/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Mick Talbot says:

    Ooops typo, missing word after find, is ‘them’, apologies,

    Mick

    Like

Leave a Reply

