Flower of the Month | The Humble Poppy

ERE WE FORGET

img_0101

I’ve walked the fields were once men lay dead,

They gave their lives for you and you, so, so true.

I’ve walked the fields were once men lay dead,

Please don’t forget the survivors, they fought on..

I’ve walked the fields were once men lay dead,

Let not their efforts be forgotten be forlorn.

I’ve walked the fields were once men lay dead,

I laid down to feel their pain, don’t let it be again.

I’ve walked the fields were once men lay dead,

The fields now verdant, from feeding on past hope.

I’ve walked the fields were once men lay dead,

The poppy, if it had a voice would scream “No more”!

I’ve walked the fields were once men lay dead,

My ear, hears voices begging. don’t lose the peace.

I’ve walked the fields were once men lay dead,

They found their peace, and we will remember them.

CC BY 3.0, Featured Image

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Christa chn says:

    Beautiful poetry, the fields of poppy in the picture looks kind of creepy :-), looks like some little mini red things going to climb up that castle 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mick Talbot says:

    Hi Christa,
    Click on the featured image link and all will be explained. Many thanks for dropping by and for the comment too.

    Like

  3. cwaugh212 says:

    The poppies seem to be storming the walls. I love the poem.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mick Talbot says:

      Thanks for your comment, appreciated. Please click on the link to learn more about the poppies, . hanks again,

      Mick

      Liked by 1 person

      1. cwaugh212 says:

        I already looked based upon your prior comment. Well done.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

