POETRY CHALLENGE#4: 31st Dec,2016-10th Jan,2017

The Time That Was

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

tanka tales
for you my sweet love
no regrets
~~~~
have we forgot time
the time that was when we loved
a country walk us
together memories made
a son two daughters much loved
~~~~
the time that was ours
altercations end in bed
shh no more listen
have we forgot time that was
gazing counting shooting stars
~~~~
have we forgot time
how love endured rough and smooth
hate played not a part
if we could walk we ran half way
nature was our guide to life
~~~~
memories now past
have we forgot time eyes wide
looking back no void
life was lived to its fullest
you me aged holding on
~~~~
All © Mick Talbot 2016/17


POETRY CHALLENGE#4: 31st Dec,2016-10th Jan,2017

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna Cottage says:

    Mick that is so touching so beautiful, what a wonderful tribute to your Wife. How wonderful it must be to have been and still be loved like that. Marriage I believed was always a Partnership, but foolishly some of us learn too late its one sided. Had my Husband, David, lived we would have been married 41 years this December 27 just gone. He always told people “I know one thing, Anna would never leave me”, even all the lies I still would have stayed, such fools we can be.

    I cried when I read what you typed for your dear Wife, she is one very lucky Lady.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mick Talbot says:

      You just caused me to over flow, it goes both ways, for I am a very lucky man.
      Nearly time to put down my pen, refill my glass, clink, a premature toast to you dear Anna, may 2017 treat you and yours well, till 2017 – Mick

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tanya says:

    It seldom happens that you connect or feel the words, the feelings out there…that’s what this poetry did for me… 🙂
    Wish to see more from your pen now! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mick Talbot says:

    Thank you, I feel humbled and honoured ….

    Like

  4. Tanya says:

    Reblogged this on Palpable Pennings and commented:
    And this is a must read for my readers out there… 🙂
    No descriptions..just read on..
    Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Tanya says:

        Pleasure! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

