Haibun Monday #28

Childhood memories

……………………………

Everyday a childhood memory is invoked, today was no exception. As if was the same day all that time ago, a huge black dog came racing up the street, I had nowhere to go, I froze, my man bag held before my private bits. It ran strait  by, ner a sniff, me a phew, a sigh of relief. The same event, a different dog, a big black chow. I was 4 years old, ran for my life, fell and, split my shin. The chow, it stopped, licked my wound, I thought it was eating me. I screamed so loud the whole street came out, the chow ran off, a neighbour picked me up, took me home to mum. I am paranoid now, for nigh on every dogs path I cross, it senses fear in me, it barks, growls, even raised their heckles, I still freeze and, on a few occasions shouts for help can be heard.

A Country Walk
a country walk miles
smile enticing wonders yay
who let the dogs out

………………………….
© Mick Talbot 2017


Haibun Monday #28

One Comment Add yours

  1. petrel41 says:

    Congratulations, Mick!

    I have nominated your blog for the Real Neat Blog Award.

    More about this nomination is at

    https://dearkitty1.wordpress.com/2017/01/19/real-neat-blog-award-congratulations-10-bloggers/

    Like

Leave a Reply

