Faded – The Daily Post Writing Prompt

 Faded  Haibun

……………………………………………………………

It was the night before the following day, a vague memory of something I had to do. Slept through till 9am, no dreams that I could recall, just a half memory that I had something to do this day. Breakfasted, ablutions done, dressed casual, checked camera, packed sarnies, filled flask, packed, ready for a country foray. Still that nagging thought that I had forgot something. Door keys in hand ready to unlock the door when, a knock, knock, beat me. Opened the door and, there stood my best friend, dressed in a tuxedo, carnation in lapel. I swore, loudly, dam! The look of bewilderment on my friends face, the explosion in my head triggered that faded memory, it was my wedding day.

stag night
the rut had begun
summer fawns

……………………….
© Mick Talbot 2017


Faded – #TheDailyPost #WritingPrompt

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Anna Cottage says:

    On a day when anger is still within me for being the fool again and trusting too much, you are there to make me laugh, smile, happy and of course Frank Sinatra and Rod McKuen singing as loud as possible from my CD machine. Thanks Mick.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mick Talbot says:

    Your welcome,
    Reading comments like yours encourage and inspire me, plus make me happy too, thanks again Anna….

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Anna Cottage says:

    Mick, what would I do without your wonderfully photography, and your Haiku not that I understand it all but I’ll keep trying. Enjoy your Sunday Roast.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

